Learning Something New!

009

010

Finished this sweater this afternoon – knitted TOP down, following Barbara Walker in Knitting From The Top. The specific plan I followed was Basic Design No. 11, Dropped Shoulder Ski Sweater. Very easy way to build a dropped-shoulder sweater. Until now I’ve always built my sweater bottom hem up; I think I like this method better, at least for a boys’ or mans’ sweater – it has a more masculine look to me. For girls or women I think I still prefer the Elizabeth Zimmerman style yoke sweater. I’ve been looking at Walker’s way of doing a yoke sweater top down and it’s a bit too involved for me; I’m usually doing something else when I knit (talk, read, walk ) so I need knitting that can be put on auto-pilot for long periods. Anyway, I like how this came out, and the young man I made it for likes it too, so who needs more than that.

Leave a Reply

